Oscars: Geena Davis, David Lynch, Wes Studi, Lina Wertmuller gets 2019 GOVERNORS AWARDS


The Academy announced the winners of the 11th Annual Governors Awards. Its Board of Governors voted to present Honorary Awards to David Lynch, Wes Studi and Lina Wertmüller, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Geena Davis.

“These Governors Awards given by the Academy each year recognize individuals who have devoted themselves to a lifetime of artistic accomplishment and brought outstanding contributions to our industry, and beyond,” said Academy President John Bailey.  “It is with great pleasure that we announce this year’s recipients.”

Geena Davis is an American actress and activist. Davis has received numerous accolades for her acting work in both film and television, and is noted for her portrayals of strong and authentic female characters as well as her involvement in advocacy for women in the industry. Geena won an Oscar for her supporting performance in “The Accidental Tourist” (1988), received a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Actress for Thelma & Louise (1991).

David Lynch is an American filmmaker, painter, musician, actor, and photographer. He has been described by The Guardian as “the most important director of this era”, while AllMovie called him “the Renaissance man of modern American filmmaking”. His films Blue Velvet (1986) and Mulholland Drive (2001) are widely regarded by critics as among the greatest films of their respective decades. Lynch received three directing Oscar nominations for “Mulholland Drive,” “Blue Velvet,” and “The Elephant Man,” as well as an adapted screenplay for his work on “The Elephant Man.”

Wes Studi is a Cherokee American actor and film producer who has won critical acclaim and awards for his portrayal of Native Americans in film. He has appeared in Academy Award-winning films, such as Dances with Wolves (1990) and The Last of the Mohicans (1992), and in the Academy Award-nominated films Geronimo: An American Legend (1993) and The New World (2005).

Lina Wertmüller is an Italian screenwriter and film director. She was the first woman nominated for an Academy Award for Best Director for Seven Beauties in 1977. She is also known for her films The Seduction of Mimi, Love and Anarchy and Swept Away. Lina Wertmuller will get one of this year’s four Oscars for career achievement.

The Governors Awards is an annual event celebrating awards conferred by the Academy’s Board of Governors – the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award. This year the 11th annual Governors Awards will be held on Oct. 27 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here